Water Polo

Western Water Polo Association – 2019 WWPA Championship Seeds Announced

Photo courtesy UCSD Athletics

Photo courtesy UCSD Athletics

Women’s Water Polo – Tue, Apr. 23, 2019

WWPA Championship Central

OAKLAND, Calif. – Six-time defending conference champion UC San Diego has earned the No. 1-seed in the upcoming 2019 Western Water Polo Association (WWPA) Championship. This year’s tournament features nine teams and takes place at SPIRE Institute, Friday-Sunday, Apr. 26-28, in Geneva, Ohio.

The seeds were determined through each team’s win-loss record in designated conference matches and input from conference coaches and administrators.

The Tritons (18-13, 4-0 WWPA) captured the top seed for the sixth year in a row. They enter the competition having won eight of their last nine matches. UCSD has been ranked as high as No. 14 this season and has spent the entire year inside the CWPA National Rankings.

UCSD awaits the winner of No. 8-seed Cal State Monterey Bay (7-16, 0-4 WWPA) and No. 9-seed Mercyhurst (6-16, 0-3 WWPA). The CSUMB-Mercyhurst loser will compete in the ninth place game on Saturday morning.

Fresno Pacific (8-19, 3-1 WWPA) received the No. 2-seed, FPU’s highest-ever seed for the tournament. The Sunbirds have won five of their last six matches, including four against WWPA opponents. FPU takes on No. 7-seed McKendree (11-13, 1-2 WWPA) in its opening game.

Cal State East Bay  (13-14, 2-2 WWPA) ended the year with back-to-back conference wins and will slot in as the No. 3-seed. CSUEB will take on newcomer No. 6-seed Salem as the Tigers make their WWPA Championship debut.

No. 4-seed Gannon (7-14, 3-0 WWPA) will face No. 5-seed Sonoma State (7-14, 1-3 WWPA). The Golden Knights went undefeated against conference opponents this season under first-year head coach Shane Unger.

Winners will move on to the semifinals on Saturday afternoon. The losers will move to the consolation bracket.

Championship Sunday kicks off with the seventh place match at 8 AM ET / 5 AM PT, followed by the fifth-place match at 10:30 AM ET / 7:30 AM PT. The third place game is 11 AM ET / 8 AM PT with the title game taking place at 12:30 PM ET / 9:30 AM PT.

2019 WWPA Tournament Seeding
1. UC San Diego (18-13, 4-0)
2. Fresno Pacific (8-19, 3-1)

3. Cal State East Bay (13-14, 2-2)
4. Gannon (7-14, 3-0)
5. Sonoma State (7-14, 1-3)

6. Salem (13-12, 2-1)
7. McKendree (11-13, 1-2)
8. Cal State Monterey Bay (7-16, 0-4)
9. Mercyhurst (6-16, 0-3)

Tournament Schedule
Friday, April 26
Game 1: No. 8 Cal State Monterey Bay vs No. 9 Mercyhurst, 9 AM ET / 6 AM PT
Game 2: No. 4 Gannon vs No. 5 Sonoma State, 10:30 AM ET / 7:30 AM PT

Game 3: No. 3 Cal State East Bay vs. No. 6 Salem, 12 PM ET / 9 AM PT
Game 4: No. 2 Fresno Pacific vs No. 7 McKendree, 1:30 PM ET / 10:30 AM PT
Game 5: No. 1 UC San Diego vs Winner Game 1, 3 PM ET / 12 PM PT

Saturday, April 27
Game 6: Loser Game 4 vs Loser Game 1, 9 AM ET / 6 AM PT
Game 7: Winner Game 4  vs Winner Game 3, 10:30 AM ET / 7:30 AM PT
Game 8: Winner Game 5 vs Winner Game 2, 12 PM ET / 9 AM PT
Game 9: Loser Game 2 vs Loser Game 5, 1:30 PM ET / 10:30 AM PT

Game 10: Loser Game 3 vs Winner Game 6, 3 PM ET / 12 PM PT

Sunday, April 28
Game 11: Loser Game 9 vs Loser Game 10 (7th Place), 8 AM ET / 5 PM PT
Game 12: Winner Game 9 vs Winner Game 10 (5th Place), 9:30 AM ET / 6:30 AM PT
Game 13: Loser Game 7 vs Loser Game 8 (3rd Place), 11 AM ET / 8 AM PT
Game 14: Winner Game 7 vs Winner Game 8 (Championship), 12:30 PM ET / 9:30 AM PT

Most Popular

To Top